Friday, April 26, 2013

The Four Immeasurables

Also known as the brahma-viharas: kindness, compassion, joy, and equanimity.
  • Friendliness toward oneself and others, wishing well: safety, health, success, happiness, peace. 
  • Empathy for pain and suffering, and wishing oneself and others be free of it.
  • Appreciating the good in the world, rejoicing in happiness and success, one’s own and others’.
  • Clear and balanced in pleasant, unpleasant, and neutral experience, with friends, strangers, and enemies.
The bliss and stillness of stable attention (shamatha) and the clarity of insight (vipsahyana) are compelling, and extraordinarily helpful. But without doubt caring for others and appreciating the good also lead to the deepest insight, happiness, peace, and freedom.

HERE is a traditional method for cultivating the four immeasurables. And HERE is a one-page version.

Enjoy, with gentle persistence...

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will be published (unless inappropriate), but if you want a reply, please send your comment directly to george@naturalawareness. You may also send questions or comments to me directly if you do not want them published in the blog.