Monday, July 16, 2012

Boundless Attitudes

Metta (lovingkindness) = friendly kindness that wishes self and others well.

Karuna (compassion) = the trembling heart that responds to pain and suffering.

Mudita (sympathetic joy) = appreciating the good in the world, enjoying others' happiness and success.

Upeksha (equanimity) = balance and clarity in the midst of experience. 

The four immeasurables are alternately aspirations, intentions, attitudes, and feelings. 

They do not depend on outer circumstances nor on one's inner state. 

They lead to insight -- to knowing how things are. 

They lead to the ability to be present and responsive. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will be published (unless inappropriate), but if you want a reply, please send your comment directly to george@naturalawareness. You may also send questions or comments to me directly if you do not want them published in the blog.