Thursday, September 22, 2011

What's Your Motive?

Know that there are three types of [practitioner]:

The inferior are said to be those who by any of the various means strive for their own benefit to merely attain the pleasures of samsara.

The mediocre are said to be those who turn their back on samsara's pleasures and also refrain from evil deeds, yet merely pursue a personal peace.

The superior are said to be those who, through understanding their own suffering, deeply desire to completely end the suffering of all other beings.

~ Atisha (980–1054), translated by Erik Pema Kunzang

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will be published (unless inappropriate), but if you want a reply, please send your comment directly to george@naturalawareness. You may also send questions or comments to me directly if you do not want them published in the blog.